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Thread: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

      
  1. #1
    I'm New! MARKDOYLE is on a distinguished road
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    Default How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    Here’s a little secret very few people know: there’s a lot more traffic available than there’s demand for. The easiest and fastest way to get a million visitors is… (drumroll, please) to buy traffic. I’m not talking about Google AdWords. There’s way too much competition there these days and although it is possible to keep AdWords campaigns profitable, it’s not as easy or affordable as it once was. I remember when I used to get extremely qualified visitors for 5 cents each. Those were good days!

    So, where can you buy quality traffic at a low cost these days? You need to buy advertising space on websites where your target audience is hanging out. This can be extremely profitable if you do it right or break your bank if you do it the wrong way, so please pay attention.

    Note: before I get started with how to buy ads profitably, let me say something: a lot of people are against paying for traffic. They think that everything on the web should be free. What they need to consider is that nothing is free. If you spend an hour of your time doing social media and you’re worth $25/hour, then you just spent $25. If you can get more and better traffic for less than $25, then you should. Let’s debunk the myth of free traffic. Traffic is only free when your product is so amazing that people talk about it, link to you and share your content.

    OK, so here’s the system to run a profitable advertising campaign.

    Step 1: Create a Great Landing Page
    These are the most important characteristics of a great landing page:

    There’s only one call to action and it’s obvious what you expect your visitors to do
    The call to action is above the fold
    The headline gets your visitors to pay attention and you use bulletpoints to explain how your product or service will improve your customer’s condition. I also love videos; they’re a great way to get your point across in less than a minute.
    You have social proof (testimonials, list of clients, case studies, celebrity endorsements, etc.)
    You get rid of all the distracting elements (i.e. everything that doesn’t help your customer complete the goal you expect them to, whether it’s to fill out a form or buy a product).
    Invest in great design. Trust me: for every dollar you invest in design, you’ll make at least $10 back. Great design significantly improves conversion rates. You can check CSS Galleries for some award-winning designers.
    You can use Unbounce to create great landing pages and Visual Website Optimizer to test headlines, calls to action, offers and other elements on your page.

    Step 2: Know Your Numbers
    You need to know how much you can afford to pay for every visitor you get. This is how you do it:

    Figure out how much a conversion (sale or lead) is worth to you
    Figure out your conversion rate (how many visitors you need to get one sale or lead). If you don’t have this data yet, take a guess and adjust it later based on actual data.
    If you make $100 per conversion and your conversion rate is 1%, you need 100 visitors to make $100, so every visitor is worth $1 to you. Now you know that if you’re paying less than $1 per visitor from a traffic source, this traffic source is a good one.

    Step 3: Find Out What’s Working for Your Competitors
    There are two elements that will make all the difference:

    Your creatives (banners, text ads, etc.)
    Your placements (what websites and pages you advertise on and where on the pages the ads are placed)

    Use these two awesome tools to find out what your competitors are doing:

    AdBeat
    MixRank

    These tools show you ads that your competitors have been running for a long time. Your competitors aren’t stupid; if they run an ad for months, it’s because it works. This is a crucial step in the process. Don’t try to be creative; copy what’s already working for others.

    Step 3: Buy Ads Through an Ad Network
    There are two ways to buy ads: through a network or by dealing directly with website owners. These are some networks you can buy ads through:

    ValueClick
    Google DoubleClick Ad Planner
    Quantcast Planner
    AdBrite
    BuySellAds
    AdMob (mobile ads)

    Very important: choose one ad network and get to know it extremely well. Don’t spread too thin at first. Once you have a winning campaign, you can start expanding to other networks.

    Step 4: Track Everything and Stop What Doesn’t Work Immediately
    It’s all about the numbers. Use parameters in your links so Google Analytics shows you what campaigns, creatives and placements are working and which ones aren’t. Simply put, if an ad is costing you more than it’s making you, get rid of it.

    Step 5: Negotiate Directly with the Site Owners
    When an ad is working great for you, contact the site owner and offer them to pay a monthly fee for the ad (as opposed to CPM, or cost per thousand impressions). You’ll get a much better deal because most networks take a 30%-50% cut, and the site owner (called publisher) will get more money as well.

    If they want to do CPM instead of a flat fee, that’s OK. Just make sure you run your ads through a third-party ad server so both you and the publisher can see how many impressions you get.

    Some tips to buy ads directly:

    Go for sites with more than 10,000 uniques a month. You can check this with Quantcast and Compete.
    Medium-sized blogs are great. They have a good reach, their visitors tend to be of high quality and they’re not full of ads, which will help your ad stand out.
    If the site has a newsletter, ask them to include you in it. This is usually extremely effective.
    If you have an affiliate program in place and have developed a strong relationship with the publisher, offer them to become an affiliate instead of paying them for ad space. They’ll work harder to promote you and can make much more money this way.
    When you pay by impressions (CPM) a very important metric is pageviews per visitor. The lower it is, the better. This is because when you pay for 100 impressions, you want 100 different people to see the ad, not one person to see the ad 100 times. In the beginning, ask for a frequency cap of 1. Later, if it converts well, you can increase it to 3.
    Xmarks is a great resource to search for websites by keyword.
    Whenever you find a website that performs really well, do a “related” search on Google:


    You can also use Quantcast’s “Audience Also Likes” feature:

    When you negotiate with your rep, share your numbers. If you can afford to pay $10 per conversion, say something like: “I want to do a $15,000 IO (insertion order) but I want to make sure you can make the numbers work for me. I need my CPA (cost per action) to be under $10. I’d like to run a test and if the numbers work, I’ll place the $15,000 IO. I’d like to spread it over 90 days and I want a 24 hour out clause.” (Which means that if the numbers don’t make sense after 24 hours, you can void the contract.)

    Before negotiating directly with portals and sites, make sure you’ve gone through ad networks and you have creatives and landing pages that work. Once you know your numbers, it’s much easier to approach sites directly.

    You’ll get much better rates if your rep knows you and trusts you. Go to Ad Tech and meet as many reps as you can. And call your rep over the phone; everyone emails them and when you call them, you’re standing out from the crowd.

    Always ask for remnant traffic. This is traffic inventory the publisher couldn’t sell. This is how you should word it: “I’m interested in buying some remnant traffic. What’s the lowest bidder paying?” Knowing the lingo makes all the difference because it shows your rep you know what you’re talking about.

    If you only serve the US market, ask for US traffic only.

    Use day-parting to show your ads only on days of the week and times of the day when your ads convert.

    You can use exit popups to ask for email addresses when visitors try to leave your landing page.

    When you negotiate directly with a site, give them an iFrame to place on their site. By doing this you’ll be able to test stuff on the fly instead of having to ask the webmaster to make all the changes you want.

    Always say you’re an agency. They’ll respect you more and you’ll get better rates. Create a basic website for your agency.

    Some ad networks auto-optimize your creatives based on which ones convert best. Definitely take advantage of this feature. If you go directly to the publishers, make sure they allow you to use a third-party ad server that optimizes your creatives.

    And remember: never stop tracking. Track every campaign, every ad, every traffic source and every creative. Get rid of what doesn’t perform quickly.
    Steve, D3niss3 and paullopez like this.

  2. #2
    Grand Masters simplyamazing12 will become famous soon enoughsimplyamazing12 will become famous soon enough
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    One million visitors a month is a bit unrealistic just using these techniques. You'd need some heavy promotion and possibly something very enticing to get one million visitors.
    A more realistic target is heavily dependent on what you base your site around.
    My Business: Chi Chi Floral [link soon!]

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    Jedi Master paullopez is on a distinguished road paullopez's Avatar
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    Well this is a quite long article to read but worthy. Two points I specially like from your article. 1. competitors analysis 2. Buy Ads Through Ad Network. These two points are very important to take advantage over competitors.

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    Jedi Master bardy is on a distinguished road
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    This is really a highly infromative post I ever read in forum. As you have covered very important points concern to traffic. I am sure one can hit this target if all will go as per plann.

    Thanks a lot for your hard work behind this also for this generous sharing. I appreciate this post lot.

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    I'm New! dholowiski is on a distinguished road
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    Quote Originally Posted by MARKDOYLE View Post
    If you only serve the US market, ask for US traffic only.
    I always buy US traffic only. For my site which is highly technical, I often will buy San Francisco (or New York) traffic only. Then I don't have to worry about language or cultural problems, I know that my ads will be effective and I know automatically that I'm targeting a very computer literate, affluent group of people. YMMV but it works for me.

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    I'm New! arthinfosoft is on a distinguished road
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    Thumbs up Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    ther is five way to get more visit on your site.

    1 Easy way to get your site.
    2 Flast Free Website
    3 Tabless Website
    4 Google Relevant Website
    5 Contain is King for Website Ranking.

  7. #7
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    Thanks for your informative knowledge.I think it will be helpful for me.

  8. #8
    The Force is Strong! logoonlinepros is on a distinguished road
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    I think getting Million Visitors is not a big deal here, but it should be relevant.

  9. #9
    I'm New! shruti is on a distinguished road
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    I think RSS feed and Social Bookmarking always help in increasing a no of visitors..

  10. #10
    I'm New! kcmedia is on a distinguished road
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    Great article i am impressed with that.

  11. #11
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    Default Re: How to Get a Million Visitors in a Month

    I don't see a reason why we should set a million views as our goal. I think the most important thing to do is to work on backlinks and make it grow so you can get continuous traffic in the future. You have posted a nice strategy on how to achieve a million traffic btw, but I don't it would be much of help at this early stage of my business.

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    I'm New! djrock is on a distinguished road
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    Thumbs up welcome

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